IMG_2299

IMG_2306

IMG_2311

IMG_2309

So this is il Pantheon.  What’s special about it?  Well, it has a hole in the middle of the roof for one, so when it rains, the rain passes through (which is a pretty neat idea if I say so).  And then it has the tombs of the first two Italian kings – when I say that, I mean the kings of the entire Italian peninsula because there were kingdoms before il Risorgimento, the unification of Italy in 1861.  They came from the House of Savoy up in Toscana (Siena, Pisa, Firenze), and after them, there was only one more king.  So the monarchy was: Vittorio Emanuele II, Umberto I, and Vittorio Emanuele III (who was a coward, allowed Mussolini to take power, and fled during WWII – in 1946, a vote was cast on whether Italy would remain a monarchy or become a republic, obviously it became a republic).  So that’s what’s really special to me about il Pantheon, the tombs.  (taken 23.12.2014)

