IMG_1959

IMG_1963

IMG_1968

IMG_1969

Our next major stop was il duomo, right at the center of the major Christmas festival, Kris Kringle (which, by the way was amazing.  I bought several things, including a type of mulled wine that is the drink apparently – I think it’s an acquired taste though).  What I liked about the churches that we visited, including il duomo, was that they don’t really have frescoes or decorations like Italy churches – they are more subdued and less ostentatious.  I think I prefer their style to the Italian style.  Downstairs, we visited part of the catacombs (that strange third picture) where the princes are buried.  It was interesting – that candle thing with the skeleton shapes was very strange but it’s growing on me every time I look at the picture.  (taken 6.12.2014)

